Day 3 and 4 of Nano

Total words so far: 8,398.

Yay! I’m excited that I’m ahead.  On Thursday  I wrote a few hundred words on the bus to work, then wrote an hour at the coffee shop before work (I always come an hour or two early to avoid traffic and relax.) Then when I came home I finished off the day, having written over 2k and ending with a total of 6,261.

Friday I wrote a few hundred words before work, and after work as I waited to meet up with my boyfriend. Then I ended with 8,398 at 11:40ish.

This is so much fun! I’m just really enjoying the freedom I have. I sometimes go back and fill in scenes that need beefing up, or add a conversation that will help develop a character. The great thing about having to meet a word count goal is that I get to make a story thicker. I spend more time in a scene trying to describe everything. Most of these words will be edited out but what’s most important in this stage is for me to get to know the characters, setting, and plot intimately.

So my novel is moving along at a good pace. Adi (MC) hasn’t gone on her journey with Jay  to break the curse yet; everyone is still recovering from the fact that it’s returned and nearly everyone has a tragic fairy tale fate. Dwelling in that scene allowed me to think more about the people of the towns’reactions to their fates instead of just Adi and her friends.

I started listening to  the album A Seat At the Table by Solange  and it’s amazing! The sound is so beautiful and chill enough for me to write to. So now when I think of this novel, I hear that soundtrack. It’s pretty cool! It’s all I listen to right now so it keeps me in the mood to write, though I hope to find another new thing to listen to so I won’t OD on this album.

Same goal of 2k for tomorrow!

Leave a comment