I wrote a thing

I wrote a short little story from start to finish tonight. And it felt so good.

I’ve been rewritting my novel for months now, and its been difficult to start something over I thought I finished. Coming to it felt so hard, and difficult–as if it required all of me. My husband (I’s married now!) encouraged me in this, and said this is part of the process. As creatives, our work demands alot of us.

It doesn’t mean losing ourselves so much in it that all other aspects of life are destroyed by its presence. It means that this work needs more of my time, my gifts, my strengths to be what it’s supposed to be.

However, its important for me to be able to finish a work, while I’m deep in another. Writing that short story allowed me to see how I’ve grown as a writer, how my sentence structure, narrative themes, and characterization has changed in the past year. It inspired me to write this blog, something that I haven’t done in SO long.

This knowledge of whats needed for my work, and the ability to be free to write a short piece, will help me to finish this novel and feed my creativity.

Leave a comment